A Shallow People

bhk-1058
I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life. John 8:12b NIV

I can’t speak for others, but I can relate my story as to the quality of people, or lack thereof, that I have met in my lifetime. For the most part, people in North America are pretty ordinary folk who tend to go about their daily lives in a quiet fashion without drawing too much attention to themselves. Of course, there are others who are always screaming out for attention, positive or negative, they will have their way.

Of all the kinds of people out there, I find a number of the Hollywood personalities as being some of the most shallow people on the planet. Rock stars and other music celebrities are a close second.

What puzzles me is that the aforementioned are the very type of people that the general public tends to mimic and follow after like dumb sheep heading for the slaughterhouse. It boggles my mind how anyone can admire and emulate the type of people that live shallow, materialistic, unethical, and immoral lives. Perhaps, it is merely a justification for our own less-than-desirable lifestyles. It just seems that the obnoxiously squeaky wheels always get the oil.

OK, I get it! One cannot take a broad sweep of Hollywood and Music personalities and claim that they are all debase degenerates. There are many good quality people in the industries of film and music respectively. How do I know that? Because I have worked professionally in video, film and audio post-production. I have met genuine and sincere people throughout the creative industry. For those in the know, Canada has a well developed film and music industry that is not bogged down with unionism (although that is rapidly changing) compared with our neighbours to the South. Hollywood North is an apt description.

A person I once knew said to me,

I don’t suffer fools any longer.

I could appreciate what she was saying. After almost three decades of working with the general public in retail sales – she had her fill of rude, self-centred, and rather stupid customers. The “customer is always right” no longer applied in her way of thinking.

I have often thought about her statement about not suffering fools and wondered how that applied to me, as an individual, and my relationships in the present.

Fools have no interest in understanding; they only want to air their own opinions. Doing wrong leads to disgrace, and scandalous behavior brings contempt. Proverbs 18:2-3

As a blogger, there is a considerable danger that we will stumble into foolishness based on something we have written. I am not talking about someone else’s opinion of our blog, but rather how God sees us in light of what has been presented to humankind in the modern form of literature we call the Bible. I find it quite convicting to do a simple word study on fools and foolishness as depicted in Scripture. We accept and internalize so much of contemporary culture that we are not even aware of the foolishness of our ways. What is often normal to contemporary North American culture and society is the very opposite of what God expects of us – we have become fools in the eyes of God and will continue to suffer the consequences in this life and the life to come.

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life through Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23 NLT

Is there a way out of this foolish madness? Yes there is, but we must start somewhere, fully realizing it will take a lifetime of surrender and commitment to God as we understand Him. The tools to discover who God really is are there for the taking. It is up to us what we do with them. He is waiting for our response.

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Revelation 3:20 NIV

But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. John 1:12 NLT

#NoFear

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Author: arealwookie

Photographer, Writer, Human Rights Advocate, Environmentalist, and Outdoor Sports Enthusiast.