Can’t sleep…

12191878_10153058670231786_7146711103324874463_n
The Silhouette

It is 3:00 AM and I can’t sleep. The wind is howling outside and it is -39C with the windchill. That is not tolerable for man or beast. A cab is swinging by to pick us up in less than a couple hours. Thinking of a cool ocean breeze and sun drenched white sand. The temperature differential between home and our destination(s) in the Caribbean is currently 70 degrees difference. Wow, we are adaptable creatures as human beings.

The word that comes to my mind in this early morning hour is PEACE. I can’t explain it, but I am experiencing such peace in the dark early morning hours of what is proving to be a very cold winter. The cup of coffee brewed in a French press is tasting rather extraordinary, almost as if my tastebuds and senses have come alive.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27

Earlier this morning, as I lay beside my beautiful wife, I sensed her quiet and gentle spirit. Even her breathing seemed to exude a quietness and stillness so comforting to my soul. God…I am so thankful for the companion you have given me. She has been my joy and my comfort since youth. So many years have passed by, yet I am more in love with her today than every moment that has passed.

A good woman is hard to find,
    and worth far more than diamonds.
Her husband trusts her without reserve,
    and never has reason to regret it.  Proverbs 31:10

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

