For the Love of a Child

12768336_10153515258345838_7760647686317648631_o
The Eyes of Innocence

What do you see when you look into the eyes of this child? Do you see sadness or despair? Can you recognize the look of disappointment and uncertainty? Can you catch that shy glimpse of hope in her eyes?

What you see is a very real child who has lived the lonely and isolated experience of being an orphan in India. She comes from the poorest of poor, a future of complete uncertainty…until now.

This little girl is part of an orphanage started by a Canadian couple that actually care about people and poverty in the two-thirds world. They are NOT merely just another non-governmental organization (NGO) who, more than often, exist to reap the benefits of donations for their own justification and existence. Often 90 % of all donations raised in North America for aid programs goes towards an organization’s overhead. At best these NGO’s are dubious in their purpose and often benefit on the backs of the poor worldwide.

Documentary journalists love to photograph and write tall tales about the plight of the poor. In return, they are often given recognition, awards, and even a Nobel Peace prize for their efforts. In the final analysis, the world ignores their expose, and the journalists move on to bigger and better things, much to their own benefit.

How can this happen? What can YOU do about it?

The Canadian couple I mentioned earlier are two people I know very well. They are NOT wealthy, they receive little or no recognition for their work, and they invest their own hard-earned money and time to make our world a better place to live in. They do what they do because they CARE about the plight of children, the poverty these children experience, and the social system(s) that put them there in the first place.

Michelle and Fred Pexa are family. Together, in partnership with others, they have dedicated their lives to serving the poor. They have not only heard the call of God to minister to the poor, they have ACTED accordingly.

For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me. Matthew 25:35,36 NLT.

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

