Does it really matter how the gospel of Christ is preached?

Anton_Raphael_Mengs_-_St._John_the_Baptist_Preaching_in_the_Wilderness_-_Google_Art_Project
John the Baptist Preaching in the Wilderness by Anton Raphael Mengs, 1760.

Introduction

The following is a commentary, actually my own direct response on FaceBook, on a repost of another WordPress article concerning freedom of speech. What surprised me was not so much that these two men were tried and convicted, but the commentary after the article. It seems that many commenters were more hung up about the manner and methods of which the aforementioned men preached the gospel (good news) of Christ rather than the actual subject area concerning freedom of speech in UK society.

Different strokes for different folks. The gospel is still the same as it was in the time of John the Baptist. Does anyone remember John the Baptist anymore and his style of preaching? What about the courage of Martin Luther to nail the ninety five theses on the doors of the church of Wittenburg?

Or we can go ahead and hide within the four walls of our church buildings with ever decreasing membership, especially in the mainline churches. The world was not worthy of the aforementioned saints. Is it worthy of these two men? Instead of fire in our bellies, we increasingly cower and conform to the secular humanistic norms and values of our western societies.

I, for one, will continue to lead people to Christ in any way I can – be it over time in personal relationships or literally preaching on the streets. In fact, as a young Christian (a 19-year-old), I did just that with YWAM and many people came to Christ in Oakland, San Francisco, LA, San Diego, and various parts of Mexico. Those same people are leading others to Christ today.

To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings. 1 Corinthians 9:20-23 NIV

Luther_95_Thesen
A facsimile of Martin Luther’s original 95 theses. wikipedia

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Author: arealwookie

Photographer, Writer, Human Rights Advocate, Environmentalist, and Outdoor Sports Enthusiast.