Memories of the Family Farm: A Place Called Home

IMG_0038
The modern grain farm in Saskatchewan.

I wish I had a better picture (closeup) of this farming activity last fall, but I was on my road bike and in a bit of a hurry. I was impressed with the amount of grain trucks and activity on this farm, just north of the Trans Canada Highway 1, along the west side of the Grand Coulee highway. Outside of the scale of activity, it reminded me so much of working on our family farm, harvesting with my dad and other relatives. As a teenager and young adult, I often hauled grain in one of our three-ton trucks or the semi tractor with a belly-dump trailer similar to those pictured above, except not tandem trailers.

Custom combine outfits were later to take over even that job. Farming has changed immensely, but my love for the land and the good memories of harvest time have not 🙂

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

#LoveLife

Author: arealwookie

Photographer, Writer, Human Rights Advocate, Environmentalist, and Outdoor Sports Enthusiast.

4 thoughts on “Memories of the Family Farm: A Place Called Home”

    1. Farming is a way of life for many families in Saskatchewan. My grandparents homesteaded here in 1904 – three generations of grain farmers today.

Comments are closed.