Feeling Fat: Why Self-Talk Matters

BRAVE_600x315_IFeelFat-480x252
Who’s talking? The monkey or the professor?

Does this sound like you?

I feel like a McChunk-Chunk today.

I just feel so bloated.

Urgh, I’m bulging out of my clothes. ****, why did I eat that last night?

I feel like a sausage in my kit today.

When I bend over, I can feel rolls.

I can’t look at my legs in the mirror. I just see cellulite.

Flab. I just feel and see flab.

When you feel fat, you’re actually feeling something else. Feeling fat is a smokescreen for other feelings. For example, you might feel frustrated that you don’t feel in control of your exercise or eating habits, or depressed that with all the exercise you do, your body still doesn’t look the way you want it to. Perhaps you feel jealous or envious of the badass athlete with the great legs, or you’re worried about gaining weight.

Dr. Simon Marshall and Lesley Paterson

“For as he thinks within himself, so he is.” Proverbs 23:7a

Read more here.

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

